Overview Teilen auf:


Prof. Jens Peter Maintz

Jens Peter Maintz enjoys an outstanding reputation as a versatile soloist, highly sought-after chamber musician, and committed cello teacher. Originally from Hamburg, he studied with David Geringas and took part in masterclasses with other great cellists such as Heinrich Schiff, Boris Pergamenschikow, Frans Helmerson and Siegfried Palm. He was further influenced by his intensive chamber music study with Uwe-Martin Haiberg and Walter Levin.

In 1994 he won first prize in the ARD international Music Competition, which had previously not been awarded to a cellist for 17 years.

He gathered several years of valuable orchestral experience as principal cello of the Deutsche Symphonie-Orchester in Berlin, and travelled the world as a member of the renowned Trio Fontenay. Since 2006 Jens Peter Maintz has been principal cello of the Lucerne Festival Orchestra, on the invitation of Claudio Abbado.

His solo career has brought him into contact with conductors such as Vladimir Ashkenazy, Herbert Blomstedt, Marek Janowski, Dmitry Kitajenko, Franz Welser-Möst, Reinhard Goebel and Bobby McFerrin. He has appeared as a soloist with the Berlin Radio Symphony Orchestra, Leipzig MDR Symphony Orchestra, Stuttgart Radio Symphony Orchestra, Den Haag Residenzorchester and Tokyo Symphony Orchestra. Alongside classical repertoire, Jens Peter Maintz has performed numerous works by contemporary composers from Isang Yun to Georg Friedrich Haas.

Since 2004 he has been professor at Berlin University of the Arts, where he teaches an exceptionally successful cello class. Many of his students are prize winners in important international competitions and some hold leading positions in major orchestras.

Jens Peter Maintz is in equally great demand as a chamber musician. He is a member of the prestigious 'Spectrum Concerts Berlin' concert series, and performs with chamber music partners such as Janine Jansen, Boris Brovtsyn, Torleif Thedéen, Hélène Grimaud, Kolja Blacher, Isabelle Faust, Antoine Tamestit, and also the Artemis, Carmina and Auryn Quartets.

It is now 25 years since he formed the cello duo 'Cello Duello' with Wolfgang Emanuel Schmidt. Together they perform at the world's most eminent festivals, such as the Kronberg Festival, the Cello Biennale Amsterdam and the Piatigorsky International Cello Festival.

For his Sony Classical CD of solo works by Bach, Dutilleux and Kodaly, Jens Peter Maintz was presented with an ECHO-Klassik award. His highly acclaimed recording of Haydn's cello concertos with the Deutsche Kammerphilharmonie Bremen was released on the Berlin Classics label.

Since 2017 he is professor at the Escuela Superior de Musica Reina Sofia in Madrid.

Jens Peter Maintz plays the 'Ex-Servais' cello made by Giovanni Grancino in 1697.


Former Scholars

Josef Alin

1995 | Sweden

Latica Anic

1994 | Croatia

Riana Anthony

1993 | United States

Beata Jemina Antikainen

1993 | Finland

Sophia Alexandra Bacelar

1996 | United States

Sebastian Bertoncelj

1992 | Slovenia

Deniz Ayse Birdal

1996 | Austria / Turkey

Felix Brunnenkant

2001 | Germany

Konstantin Bruns

1993 | Germany

Bryan Cheng

1997 | Canada

Brannon Cho

1994 | United States

Hayoung Choi

1998 | South Korea

Yehjin Chun

1992 | South Korea

Elia Cohen-Weissert

1994 | Israel / Germany

Christoph Croisé

1993 | Switzerland

Rainer Adriene Crosett

1992 | United States

Owen Davis

2006 | Norway

Chiara Enderle

1992 | Switzerland

Alfredo Ferre

1994 | Spain

Sebastian Fritsch

1996 | Germany

Harry Gilfillan

1997 | Great Britain

André Gunko

1997 | Portugal

Marilies Guschlbauer

1994 | Austria

Julia Hagen

1995 | Austria

Christoph Heesch

1995 | Germany

Constantin Philipp Heise

2001 | Germany

Moritz Huemer

1999 | Principality of Liechtenstein

Andrei Ioniță

1994 | Romania

Caterina Isaia

2002 | Italy

Irena Josifoska

1996 | Hungary

Yeeun Kang

2002 | South Korea

Minji Kim

1995 | South Korea

Harriet Krijgh

1991 | Netherlands

Maciej Kulakowski

1996 | Poland

Benjamin Lai

1993 | USA

Carlo Lay

2000 | Germany

Noah Lee

2000 | USA

Christine Lee

1991 | South Korea

Mon-Puo Lee

1993 | Spain

Sydney Jenna Lee

1996 | United States

Manuel Lipstein

2001 | Germany

Haran Meltzer

1994 | Israel

Alina Morger

2000 | Switzerland

Jonas Palm

1993 | Germany

Eva-Maria Pfanner

1991 | Austria

Erica Piccotti

1999 | Italy

Nadja Reich

1993 | Gerrmany

Katarina Schmidt

1993 | Germany/Sweden

Astrig Siranossian

1988 | France / Armenia

Grace Sohn

1999 | Canada

Kian Soltani

1992 | Austria

Zuzanna Sosnowska

1993 | Poland

Marie Spaemann

1988 | Germany

Anton Spronk

1994 | Netherlands/Switzerland

Amalie Stalheim

1993 | Norway

Francesco Stefanelli

1999 | Italy

Ildikó Szabó

1993 | Hungary

Payam Taghadossi

1989 | Austria

Vid Veljak

1996 | Croatia

Barbara Warchalewska

1995 | Poland

Alexander Warenberg

1998 | Netherlands

Kristina Winiarski

1994 | Sweden

Han Bin Yoon

1988 | South Korea

Sul Yoon

1995 | South Korea