Overview Teilen auf:
Information
Born1995
CountryEstonia
Homepagewww.marcelkits.com
Intensive weeks

Academic year 2019/2020

Cello
03. May - 07. May 2020

Academic year 2018/2019

Cello
07. May - 11. May 2019

Scholar

Marcel Johannes Kits

Marcel Johannes Kits was born in 1995 in Estonia. He showed great interest in the cello when he was just four years old, and began his first lessons at the age of five. He studied with Laine Leichter in Tallinn Music High School from 2002 and with Mart Laas from 2011 in the same school. From 2014, he studied with prof. Francis Gouton at Trossingen University of Music (Germany) and from 2018 he is continuing his studies at the Berlin University of the Arts with prof. Jens Peter Maintz. 

He has participated in masterclasses of Steven Isserlis, prof. Ivan Monighetti, prof. László Fenyö, prof. Maria Kliegel, prof. Wolfgang Emanuel Schmidt, prof. Wen-Sinn Yang, prof. Jan-Erik Gustafsson, prof. Marko Ylönen, prof. David Geringas and many others. In 2010-2014 he was given a full scholarship in the three-week Astona International Summer Academy in Switzerland. He receives a scholarship from the International Academy of Music in Liechtenstein and participates regularly in the intensive music weeks and activities offered by the Academy. 

Marcel won the 1st prize at the “International Johannes Brahms Competition” in Austria in 2016 and at the “George Enescu International Competition” in Romania in 2018. He has also won the 1st prizes at the major competitions in Estonia (TV competition “Classical Stars” in 2013 and “National String Competition” in 2015). In 2019 he was the semifinalist at the “ARD International Cello Competition”. 

Marcel performed with many orchesters, among others with the Munich Chamber Orchestra, the Novosibirsk Chamber Orchestra, the Jyväskylä Sinfonia, the Tallinn Chamber Orchestra, the Estonian National Symphony Orchestra, the Moscow Chamber Orchestra, the George Enescu Philharmonic Orchestra in Bucharest and the St. Petersburg Symphony Orchestra in the grand hall of the St. Petersburg Philharmonia. 

He played chamber music in the great hall of Hamburg Elbphilharmonie and Berliner Philharmonie. He has also performed in China and Japan and at venues such as Konzerthaus Berlin, Boulez Saal, Laeiszhalle Hamburg, Prinzregententheater München, Romanian Athenaeum in Bucharest, Tel Aviv Opera House and Jerusalem Theatre. 

As a soloist, Marcel has performed with the Latvian National Symphony Orchestra, the Jerusalem Symphony Orchestra, the Kymi Sinfonietta, the Württembergische Philharmonie Reutlingen, the Südwestdeutsches Kammerorchester Pforzheim, the Pärnu City Orchestra, the Jena Philharmonic Orchestra and the Israel Symphony Orchestra, among others. Marcel performed at the gala concert of Estonia’s 97th Independence Day with Estonian National Symphony Orchestra under the baton of Risto Joost. 

In 2015 he recorded the CD “Songs of Childhood” by Arvo Pärt and in 2016, 2017 and 2018 he recorded CD-s for Deutsche Stiftung Musikleben in Hamburg Laeiszhalle, Pierre Boulez Saal and Hamburg Elbphilharmonie. 

He is supported by Deutsche Stiftung Musikleben, the Cultural Endowment of Estonia and the Association of Estonian Professional Musicians, which awarded him the “Musician of the year” prize in 2019. 

Marcel plays an Italian cello made by Francesco Ruggeri (Cremona, 1674) and a bow made by Victor Fetique, both kindly on loan to him by the Deutsche Stiftung Musikleben.

Information
Born1995
CountryEstonia
Homepagewww.marcelkits.com
Intensive weeks

Academic year 2019/2020

Cello
03. May - 07. May 2020

Academic year 2018/2019

Cello
07. May - 11. May 2019

Übersicht Teilen auf:
Steckbrief
Geboren1995
LandEstland
Homepagewww.marcelkits.com
Intensiv-Wochen

Stipendiat

Marcel Johannes Kits

Marcel Johannes Kits wurde 1995 in Estland geboren. Bereits im Alter von vier Jahren zeigte er grosses Interesse am Cello und begann mit fünf Jahren seinen ersten Unterricht. Er studierte ab 2002 bei Laine Leichter am Musikgymnasium Tallinn und ab 2011 bei Mart Laas an derselben Schule. Ab 2014 studierte er bei Prof. Francis Gouton an der Hochschule für Musik Trossingen (Deutschland) und setzt sein Studium ab 2018 an der Universität der Künste Berlin bei Prof. Jens Peter Maintz fort. 

Er nahm an Meisterkursen teil von Steven Isserlis, Prof. Ivan Monighetti, Prof. László Fenyö, Prof. Maria Kliegel, Prof. Wolfgang Emanuel Schmidt, Prof. Wen-Sinn Yang, Prof. Jan-Erik Gustafsson, prof. Marko Ylönen, Prof. David Geringas und viele andere. 2010-2014 erhielt er ein Vollstipendium an der dreiwöchigen Astona International Summer Academy in der Schweiz. Er erhält ein Stipendium der Internationalen Musikakademie Liechtenstein und nimmt regelmäßig an den intensiven Musikwochen und Aktivitäten der Akademie teil. 

Marcel gewann 2016 den ersten Preis beim „Internationalen Johannes-Brahms-Wettbewerb“ in Österreich und 2018 beim „George Enescu International Competition“ in Rumänien. Außerdem gewann er erste Preise bei den großen Wettbewerben in Estland (TV-Wettbewerb „Classical Stars “ im Jahr 2013 und „National String Competition“ im Jahr 2015). 2019 war er Halbfinalist beim „Internationalen Cellowettbewerb der ARD“. 

Marcel trat mit vielen Orchestern auf, unter anderem mit dem Münchner Kammerorchester, dem Novosibirsk Chamber Orchestra, der Jyväskylä Sinfonia, dem Tallinn Chamber Orchestra, dem Estonian National Symphony Orchestra, dem Moscow Chamber Orchestra, dem George Enescu Philharmonic Orchestra in Bukarest und dem St. Petersburger Symphonieorchester im großen Saal der St. Petersburger Philharmonie. 

Kammermusik spielte er im Großen Saal der Hamburger Elbphilharmonie und der Berliner Philharmonie. Darüber hinaus trat er in China und Japan und an Orten wie dem Konzerthaus Berlin, dem Boulez Saal, der Laeiszhalle Hamburg, dem Prinzregententheater München, dem Rumänischen Athenäum in Bukarest, dem Tel Aviv Opera House und dem Jerusalem Theatre auf. 

Als Solist trat Marcel unter anderem mit dem Lettischen National Symphony Orchestra, dem Jerusalem Symphony Orchestra, der Kymi Sinfonietta, der Württembergischen Philharmonie Reutlingen, dem Südwestdeutschen Kammerorchester Pforzheim, dem Pärnu City Orchestra, dem Jena Philharmonic Orchestra und dem Israel Symphony Orchestra auf . Marcel trat beim Galakonzert zum 97. Unabhängigkeitstag Estlands mit dem Estnischen Nationalen Symphonieorchester unter der Leitung von Risto Joost auf. 

2015 nahm er die CD „Lieder der Kindheit“ von Arvo Pärt auf und 2016, 2017 und 2018 CDs für die Deutsche Stiftung Musikleben in der Hamburger Laeiszhalle, Pierre Boulez Saal und der Hamburger Elbphilharmonie. 

Unterstützt wird er von der Deutschen Stiftung Musikleben, der Kulturstiftung Estlands und dem Verband estnischer Berufsmusiker, die ihm 2019 den Preis „Musiker des Jahres“ verliehen haben. 

Marcel spielt ein italienisches Cello von Francesco Ruggeri (Cremona, 1674) und einen Bogen von Victor Fetique, die ihm freundlicherweise von der Deutschen Stiftung Musikleben zur Verfügung gestellt wurden. 

Steckbrief
Geboren1995
LandEstland
Homepagewww.marcelkits.com
Intensiv-Wochen