Overview Teilen auf:

Scholar

Simon Zhu

Simon Zhu was born in Germany in 2001. He received his first violin lessons at the age of six. His exceptional talent was recognized soon, so that he was early being taught by renowned violin professors. Since 2012 he has been a student at the Carl Philipp Emanuel Bach music high school in Berlin and a junior student at the Julius Stern Institute at the Berlin University of the Arts. He was a student of Prof. Koh Gabriel Kameda. Since 2015 he has been a student of Prof. Tomasz Tomaszewski at the University of the Arts in Berlin and takes private lessons with Ning Feng. 

Simon attended master classes with Professors Wolfgang Marschner, Rainer Kussmaul, Ana Chumachenco, Boris Kuschnir, Petru Munteanu, Krzysztof Wegrzyn, Igor Ozim, Ingolf Turban and Paul Roczek, among others. He is also a scholarship holder of the International Music Academy in Liechtenstein, where he regularly takes part in the intensive weeks and activities held there.

In 2016 Simon won the 1st prize at the “13. International Georg Philipp Telemann Violin Competition“ in Poznan (Poland) with distinction for the best interpretation of a fantasy for violin solo by Georg Philipp Telemann. This year he also received the “Bruno Frey Music Prize” from the Bruno Frey Foundation (Ochsenhausen). In 2017 the 1st prize followed at the “17. International Violin Competition” in Schöntal Abbey, including a special prize for the best interpretation of a virtuoso piece and a Reinhold Würth Prize. In 2018 he won the 1st prize at the “34. Valsesia Musica International Violin Competition” in Italy. His most recent success is the 1st prize at the renowned “Zhuhai International Mozart Competition for Young Musicians” 2019 in China. 

Simon made his debut in June 2015 at a lunch concert in the Berlin Philharmonic. Since 2017 he has performed there several times as a soloist with orchestra. He was also a guest at the International Young Masters Violin Festival at Lake Constance and is a scholarship holder of the Menuhin Festival & Academy. He gave concerts in Germany, France, Belgium, Poland, Romania, Switzerland, Liechtenstein and China. 

Simon has been a scholarship holder of the Deutsche Stiftung Musikleben  since 2016 and an academic at the Hope Music Academy 2020. 

He has been playing a fine old Italian violin since 2020, a generous loan from Florian Leonhard Fine Violins London.

Übersicht Teilen auf:

Stipendiat

Simon Zhu

Simon Zhu wurde 2001 in Deutschland geboren. Seinen ersten Geigenunterricht erhielt er bereits im Alter von sechs Jahren. Frühzeitig wurde seine Ausnahmebegabung erkannt, sodass er schon bald von renommierten Geigenprofessoren unterrichtet wurde. Seit 2012 ist er Schüler des Musikgymnasiums Carl Philipp Emanuel Bach in Berlin sowie Jungstudent am Julius Stern Institut an der Universität der Künste Berlin. Er war Schüler von Prof. Koh Gabriel Kameda. Seit 2015 ist er Schüler von Prof. Tomasz Tomaszewski an der Universität der Künste in Berlin und nimmt Privatunterricht bei Ning Feng. 

Simon besuchte Meisterkurse u.a. bei den Professoren Wolfgang Marschner, Rainer Kussmaul, Ana Chumachenco, Boris Kuschnir, Petru Munteanu, Krzysztof Wegrzyn, Igor Ozim, Ingolf Turban und Paul Roczek. Außerdem ist er Stipendiat der Internationalen Musikakademie in Liechtenstein und nimmt dort regelmäßig an den Intensiv-Wochen und Aktivitäten der Akademie teil

2016 gewann Simon den ersten Preis beim “13. Internationalen Wettbewerb für Violine Georg Philipp Telemann“ in Poznan (Polen) mit Auszeichnung für die beste Interpretation einer Fantasie für Violine solo von Georg Philipp Telemann. Außerdem erhielt er in diesem Jahr den “Bruno-Frey-Musikpreis“ der Bruno-Frey-Stiftung (Ochsenhausen). 2017 folgte der erste Preis beim “17. Internationalen Violinwettbewerb” in Kloster Schöntal samt Sonderpreis für die beste Interpretation eines virtuosen Stücks und Reinhold-Würth-Förderpreis. 2018 gewann er den ersten Preis beim “34. Internationalen Violinwettbewerb Valsesia Musica” in Italien. Sein jüngster Erfolg ist der erste Preis beim renommierten “Zhuhai Mozartwettbewerb” 2019 in China. 

Simon Zhu debütierte im Juni 2015 bei einem Lunchkonzert in der Berliner Philharmonie. Seit 2017 trat er dort bereits mehrmals als Solist mit Orchester auf. Außerdem war er zu Gast beim Internationalen Violinfestival Junger Meister am Bodensee und ist Stipendiat des Menuhin Festival & Academy. Konzerte gab er in Deutschland, Frankreich, Belgien, Polen, Rumänien, Schweiz, Liechtenstein und China. 

Simon ist seit 2016 Stipendiat der Deutschen Stiftung Musikleben sowie Akademist der Hope Music Academy 2020. 

Er spielt seit 2020 eine feine alte italienische Geige, eine großzügige Leihgabe von Florian Leonhard Fine Violins London.